Saveetha Dental College Conducted 2 days PG-STAR Summit

Saveetha Dental College Conducted 2 days PG-STAR Summit

Saveetha Dental College Conducted 2 days PG-STAR Summit



Saveetha Dental College Conducted 2 days PG-STAR Summit (Postgraduate Saveetha Transdisciplinary Annual Research Summit) and 10th International BDS Students Seminaron 9th and 10th January 2016 at Dental college campus, poonamallee,Chennai.

It was indeed quite a special occasion at Saveetha Dental college and hospitals for it marked the inauguration of the postgraduate Saveetha Trans disciplinary Annual Research Summit and the 10th Basic Medical Sciences Conference on the 9th January 2016. In today’s ever changing world, in order to keep pace with the changing scenarios, science has to be constantly updated. This evolution is possible only through the quest to search, the ability to think laterally. Saveetha Dental College has a well structured research integrated curriculum. Each postgraduate student does 5 short term research projects which they present in these two days.

The chief guest of the Innagural celebration was Prof. Dr.H.Devaraj, vice – chairman , UGC. The chancellor Dr.N.M. Veeraiyan, Advisor Dr. Rajagopal, Dean Dr . N.D.Jayakumar, Dr. Deepak Nallaswamy Director of Academics Saveetha Dental College were the dignitaries who added more sparkle to the celebration. Dr. Deepak Nallaswamy delivered the welcome address and the annual research report emphasising the innovations, changes and the achievements of the students. Dr.N.M. Veeraiyan appreciated the students and faculty for their hard work and perseverance. The chief guest of the day Dr. H. Devaraj who is an eminent researcher motivated the students with his inspiring speech. He emphasised the need to be creative and not just innovative. He also spoke about the prevalent academic osmosis and the changes in current scenario wherein India is also growing to be a research hub.Dr. Devaraj also emphasised the importance of the basic science and the need to be continuously updated. Saveetha University Advisor Dr. Rajagopal, Dr.N. D. Jayakumar Dean, Saveetha Dental College also rendered their felicitations. The associate dean of Research Dr. PratibhaRamani delivered the Vote of thanks.

The day continued buzzing with scientific activities. There was an array of more than 300 posters each representing the good quality work of every post graduate. They were critically apprised by judges and peer judges from other institutions providing a fertile scientific forum for further development.

The valedictory function of the postgraduate STAR Summit was held in the Decennial Hall of Saveetha Dental College on 10th January 2016 at 2:30 PM. Any great feet attains its full dimension only on recognition by an apt person. Apt to this statement, the Chief Guest of the day was Prof.H.Chellapandi, Chairman and Managing Director of BharatiyaNabhikiyaVidyut Nigam (BHAVINI), a Public Sector Undertaking under Government of India, responsible for construction and commissioning of fast breed reactors in the country.

The Director of Academics, Dr. Deepak Nallaswamy delivered the Welcome Address. The Chief Guest Dr. Chellapandi has an outstanding academic records. He is an excellent Researcher and has guided so far 18 PhD students, 130 M.Tech and 300 B.E. students. He has a very impressive record of publications (~840) to his credit. He delivered the most inspiring speech to the students emphasizing that Research has no boundaries and emphasized the significance of transdisciplinary research. Dean, Dr. N.D.Jayakumar announced the prize winners.

The students were awarded under various categories namely Material Science Project, Diagnostic Assay, Interdisciplinary Project, KAP Survey, Cochrane/ Systematic review, Animal research project, Equipment Analysis, Patent, Clinical Practice Guidelines, MainDisseratation Reviews, Cellular/Molecular Biology project, Innovative Techniques, Case report, Decision Analysis Review, Main Dissertation Final Publication. 69 Best Research Awards were distributed to the Postgraduates. Associate Dean of research, Dr.PratibhaRamani delivered the Vote of Thanks. The university targets Research as its main focus area. Every maneuver of the university under the Director of Academics under Dr.DeepakNallaswamy has tethered Research into the minds of every student and faculty.